Classifications of Types of Hydrocephalus

Source:  Classifications of Types of Hydrocephalus    Tag:  achondroplasia hydrocephalus
Hydrocephalus is subdivided into several different categories. Communicating and noncommunicating are the most common categories. These terms were previously used interchangeably with obstructive and nonobstructive. The latter terms have fallen from use, as it is believed that in almost all cases of hydrocephalus there is some obstruction of CSF reabsorption; the exception is the rare state of overproduction of CSF. Hydrocephalus is also subdivided into congenital versus acquired, and internal versus external (see table). Other categories include normal pressure hydrocephalus and ex vacuo hydrocephalus.

Table. Classifications of hydrocephalus
Arachnoid cyst
Dandy-Walker malformation
Associated with craniofacial syndromes
Posthemorrhagic: intraventricular or subarachnoid
Choroid plexus papilloma or choroid plexus carcinoma
Venous obstruction as in superior vena cava syndrome

Aqueductal stenosis
Congenital lesions (vein of Galen malformation, congenital tumors)
Arachnoid cyst
Chiari malformations either withor without myelomeningocele
X-linked hydrocephalus
Dandy-Walker malformation
Aqueductal gliosis (posthemorrhagic or postinfectious)
Space-occupying lesions such as tumors or cysts
Head injuries