Distinguished Graduate Awards Presented

Source:  Distinguished Graduate Awards Presented    Tag:  muir torre syndrome

Congratulations to this year's winners: William A. Eaton, C'59, M'64, GRM'67 and Alan J. Wein, M'66, INT'70.

The Distinguished Graduate Award honors highly accomplished alumni for their outstanding service to society and to the profession of medicine and for their notable accomplishments in biomedical research, clinical practice, or medical education. Previous recipients include Nobel laureates Michael S. Brown, C'62, M'66, HON'86 and Stanley B. Prusiner, C'64, M'68, and former Surgeon General C. Everett Koop, GRM'47, HON'90.

 A brief description of their recent accomplishments follows:

William A. Eaton, MD, PhD, receiving Award from Dean J. Larry Jameson MD, PhD
William A. Eaton, MD, PhD, is Chief of the Laboratory of Chemical Physics at the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, and Chief of the Biophysical Chemistry Section at NIH. He serves as a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences. He has received numerous awards, including the Meritorious Service Medal of the United States Public Health Service.

Alan J. Wein, MD, PhD, receiving Award from Dean J Larry Jameson, MD, PhD
Alan J. Wein, MD, PhD, is Founders Professor and Chief of the Division of Urology at the Perelman School of Medicine, and Chief of Urology and Director of the Urology Residency Program at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. He is the editor-in-chief of Campbell-Walsh Urology, the textbook considered to be the gold standard in urology.

Visit Medical Alumni web site for more details of their contributions.