About Amanda

Source:  About Amanda    Tag:  amniotic band syndrome pictures
I was born on Wednesday, February 24, 1988 at Hill Airforce Base in Layton, Utah. My mom was not allowed to see me for the first two hours of my life (imagine how long that would be for a new mom). The midwives basically told her she had a freak child (in nicer terms though), and they let her know I was female. After all the extensive testing I went through, my mom was allowed to see me. Expecting a freak, she was pretty much surprised to see a pretty normal baby. And then I raised my hand towards her. (This was all told to me by my mom but in nicer terms also. It's not like I'm that much of a freak and remember my infancy days.)


I have amniotic band syndrome, an environmental birth defect that mainly affects the digits (fingers and toes). My fingers and toes are affected. I also have a band on my calf right above my ankle (everyone thinks it's a sock tanline). I have gone through many surgeries at the University of Utah Hospital (around seven or eight surgeries). These surgeries separated my fingers and toes. A bone and skin grafts were taken from my hip and also placed in/on my fingers. And yes, I do have scars from these surgeries (on the hip and on the fingers), they weren't done for aesthetic purposes. I also have an awesome scar on my wrist from growing too fast while in a cast (my skin molded with the cast basically). Not many people can claim a scar from a cast, can they?


I graduated on June 6, 2006 from Itineris Early College High School in West Jordan, Utah.  I've known my husband, Jared, for over half of my life.  We went to Majestic Elementary school together.  We started dating in high school and have been dating for over seven years now.  We finally tied the knot on August 15, 2009 and have enjoyed being married since.  Gizmo, the three-legged, three-pound Yorkie joined the family  two years ago, and he loves being the spoiled-rotten child.


I graduated in May 2010 from Utah State University with a bachelor's degree in biological engineering and a minor in chemistry. I was an active member in the Society of Women Engineers. My further education goals consist of getting a 2- or 4-year degree in Spanish and getting an MBA. While all of this may make you think I'm really smart, I'm not that smart. I'm just a very hard worker and somewhat motivated (some of the time).


I moved to Wisconsin over a year ago, and I am absolutely in love with the community.  I don't like the cold nor the snow, but it's a small price to pay.

So, I believe that's all you really need to know about me, although my journal entries might give you a better idea of who I am as a person (believe me, if you had to scale a person from good to evil, I'd probably sit barely closer to the good end than the bad end --but hey, I continually try to improve the good in me).








Daisypath - Personal pictureDaisypath Anniversary tickers








Daisypath - Personal pictureDaisypath Anniversary tickers










Click here to join SammysFriends
Click to join Sammy's Friends